Hello…how are you?

Hard to believe I am sitting here, 4 years after my first go-round with my blog, and entering back into the fray. I’m still not sure “blogging” is really a thing anymore, but I figured I’d give it a shot and see what happens.

image001-1

My original intent for getting back into the blogging business was to share my journey to my second Ironman and all that goes along with it. What I don’t know is if anyone really cares! That is to be determined, I suppose. But I also thought it would be fun to be able to have a place to just write, share my training plans, how to juggle life as a working IronMom (I wish I had trademarked that title – I’m sure it’s been used a billion times before, though), etc. Again, I have no idea if that is interesting to anyone, but we shall see.

Quite a bit has changed since my last Ironman 4 years ago. Here’s a quick snippet of who I am today and what’s going on in my world:

  • I live back in Michigan after a 13 month stint in Seattle
  • I now have 2 beautiful daughters, Julia (6 1/2) and Emily (almost 2)
2181
I mean…how cute are they?!
  • I am 40 (how did that happen?)
  • I am a now not a contractor, but a full time project manger with Stryker
    • I’m very thankful to have the flexibility to work from home and only go into our office in Kalamazoo when needed
      • Side note: My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone in Kalamazoo affected by this weekend’s awful and random violence. I’m thankful no one I work with or know was a victim but it’s absolutely senseless and tragic
  • I am a member of Team Coeur again for the 2nd year and I’m so thankful to be part of an amazing team of women from across the country
  • I am still learning to juggle home life, wife life, mom life, working life, triathlon life and “Erika” life
    • It is NOT easy and I don’t pretend like I have the secret to how to make it work
    • There are days when I question every single thing I do and wonder how I’m going to wake up the next day and do it all again
  • My husband, Rob caught the triathlon bug and is now training for his first 70.3 this August
    • We don’t really train together, per se, but I’m trying to help him as much as I can
    • He’s a super fast and strong biker, getting faster on the run and with a bit more help and time in the pool, his 7-foot arm wingspan will come in handy with the swim and he should do quite well there, too

      2280
      We do actually go out without our workout gear on sometimes…and sans kiddos on occasion!
  •  We have some other races on tap this year that we will do together – a few sprints and Olympic distances around the state
    • It’s really important to both of us that we show our girls the importance of being active, setting goals, sticking to those goals and not giving up even when faced with adversity
    • I really hope the girls can be proud of what we are doing and know that even though they may spend a lot of time at the gym daycare while we’re in the pool/running/spinning, it’s to make ourselves better, healthier and to set a good example for them

There’s a bit of a start for you all. I’ll continue to work on perfecting my blogging form as I go – excuse that this one is a bit all over the map at the moment! Multi-tasking sometimes does me more harm than good.

Thanks in advance for those of you still reading – I appreciate your support, your advice and your willingness to stick with me as I work my way towards July 24th and crossing that finish line in Lake Placid!

Have a great Monday!

1 thought on “Hello…how are you?”

  1. Finally getting a chance to catch up on your blog. It’s so good to see you writing again! I always enjoyed reading it in the past and I’m glad to see you’re back at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

