My Balancing Act

Hope everyone is doing well as we approach the end of March. I have no idea how that’s possible, but it’s already the 22nd whether I like it or not!

I’m currently on the DL recovering from Influenza B. It came out of no where on Sunday night and I had a bad feeling based on how achy I was that it was the flu. I did the right thing by getting tested and starting Tamiflu within 15 hours of the onset. I haven’t done any training since Saturday and although I’m antsy about that and worried about getting back on track, I’m hoping the drugs and the “rest” help me recover more quickly.

It is not pleasant.

Just when I think I’m feeling better, I try to do too much and then…

Wham-o.

I’m back down for the count.It hasn’t been easy, especially with Rob out of town this week, my new role at work getting increasingly more complex, handling both girls, getting ready to fly to Florida on Thursday, etc. It’s a never ending balancing act, that I know many people go through and I appreciate that I’m not alone in situations like this!

It is tough.

The timing was interesting, though, that I was asked by a great goggle/swim company, Zoggs, to write an article for them about how I balance my life as a working mom training for Ironman, some struggles I run into and the rewards I’ve gotten from competing in triathlon.

Again, I know I’m not the first, I’m not the only and I definitely won’t be the last to do this. But I do wonder myself sometimes how I’m managing all of this.

It is a lot of work. 

This is my second full Ironman, but I’ve lost count of the total number of triathlons I’ve done over the years. It’s something I’m passionate about and I work into my life and make it a priority along with my family, my job and my friends. But by making it a priority, I really need to be disciplined in my days and figure out how to fit it all in hopefully without making anyone in my life feel left out.

There are days when I can only do part of what my coach has lined up for me because work was too busy or we had something else come up – a sporting or social event or like this week, an illness.

There are days when I plan so well that I can get in a brick workout, ensure I put in a full work day (usually plus some), attend to my kids’ needs including school/after school activities, lunches, dinners, grocery shopping, laundry, household “chores” and maybe have time to sit down at the end of the day and breathe.

It is a balancing act

But within that crazy balancing act, and even when I question how I’m going to make it through a week, I realize that I’m setting an example for my girls on responsibility, commitment and the importance of staying active. I hope that they see my dedication and know that I’m doing all of this to make them proud. I try to ensure I have a smile on my face during my races and at the finish so when I see my girls’ smiling, they know I’m having fun and I know they’re happy. That’s all that matters.

It is fun

And in the end, if you have fun along with family and friends, you have it all.

 

 

1 thought on “My Balancing Act”

  1. As long as it is still fun then it is worth doing. I know it’s hard to find those moments amidst the chaos, but you really are setting such a good example for your girls and you are such an inspiration to the rest of us. I really mean that. ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

