Back to reality (and it’s harsh)

Happy April, everyone!

We are back from our spring break adventures and ready to hit the ground running again.

Or so I’m trying to convince myself of that. 

We had a busy but fun trip including Disney and time with our friends and second family in Florida. I always love being there and hate leaving but there is something to be said about having a routine back – not only for my kids but for ME!

Having a couple of “down weeks” with the flu and vacation definitely put a bit of a damper on my training plans and I had to adjust on the fly quite a bit. I’m not happy about it, but I have to remember that maybe this break was what I needed to get re-focused and re-energized. I’m really trying to convince my stubborn brain of this instead of letting it take my down the road of “you suck and you’re never going to finish Ironman” which it has been doing lately.

I hate this self-doubt. 

I was able to get a couple of decent bike rides in outside in the Florida sun, and a few short runs, but that’s about it. I did the best I could and sometimes that’s just what it is.

12418061_10153499864772078_4666647029336492421_n
Proof that I did ride outside. This was my 41+ mile ride on Friday morning – it was beautiful and I felt great

Right now I’m anything but energized and really need to figure out how the hell to get through the next 16 weeks (oh, who am I kidding…how to get through the next 16 HOURS at this point!) I’m still trying to recover completely from our 17+ hour drive home through the night and getting my kids re-adjusted to sleep patterns that didn’t involve staying up until 11pm eating candy and ice cream. (Parent of the year, right?)

10850312_10153493665162078_6393295518536020017_n
Yep, popcorn and ice cream at the same time. 

I am struggling to figure out how to get right back on the horse (er, bike) and move forward. As I know every working parent can relate to, I’m just not sure how I’m going to get myself back on track with a pile full of work on my desk on a Monday morning, along with a 2 day trip to our corporate offices later this week. Oh and never mind the endless kid activities, trying to figure out Emily’s 2nd birthday party, managing my Wildtree business (let me know if you want to know more about healthy freezer meal prep!) etc.

It’s never ending for sure. 

I’m going to do my best to get a week’s worth of decent workouts in this week and maybe it will make me feel better. I’m reminded from one of my best friends, Julie, that there are times when you do what you can, when you can. I even got the book written by another blogger – I recommend getting it as it is helpful but I really need to take it to heart more! You can find it HERE

So off I go to try and conquer the day, try to remember I’m doing the best I can and that I will be ok, and maybe get myself a treat to make me feel better.

If all else fails, get a treat. 

Have a great day!

 

 

1 thought on “Back to reality (and it’s harsh)”

  1. Yessssss, wycwyc!! I think you’re too hard on yourself in a lot of ways, but aren’t we all. Your parenting is great and your kids will be fine having popcorn and ice cream. They eat plenty of healthy food and are such active girls. You and Rob are the pinnacle of role models for healthy living!

    Like

Leave a Reply

