The final countdown (sort of…)

Happy post- July 4th week to you all. Not sure about anyone else, but it always seems the week after a holiday weekend drags endlessly on and everything is irritating! It could be a combination of just not wanting to be back to reality, my kids being com-plete-ly out of their routine and acting a fool, too much laundry and catching up to do, etc…

I had a fantastic weekend thanks to Rob and our families – they threw me an awesome “AmERIKA (get it?) is 40-ish” birthday bash at my in-laws’ lake place. Since we are always traveling on my birthday, he has been planning this since last fall and he did not disappoint! So much food, Moscow Mules and beer all around, good friends, games and lots of laughs. I loved every minute of it!

And I earned all that food and beer after riding almost 70 hilly miles that morning with my coach, Matt, and then running 8 hilly miles after that. It was one of my last difficult, long brick workouts and I was so thankful to have Matt there with me. We were able to talk race strategy, nutrition, he told me about his race in Kona (yep, he’s that awesome, and fast), and we just had a great time. The only bad part?

So. Much. Roadkill. Yuck.

Rob and I were also able to ride together on Monday for about 21 miles. It’s truly so much better to have someone to ride with and talk to (even though he took off like a bat out of hell towards the end – he’s a *bit* stronger than me on the bike! Watch out, Ohio Ironman 70.3 – he is coming for you!)

Here are a few pictures from the weekend – I didn’t take any on the rides or run, but it’s more fun to see the party pics anyway, right?

But alas, here we are. It’s Wednesday. And we leave for Lake Placid 2 weeks from pretty much right now.

Holy *&#^#. 

I’m almost to recovery/taper time (thank GOD), with only one more “big” workout this weekend with a 2-3 hour bike/run brick. Then, as they say:

hay-in-barn
via Google. 

The culmination of 7+ months of hard work is about to happen and I’m just not sure I’ve wrapped my head around it completely yet. I’m starting to reflect on it, I’m starting to plan my race day and of course getting nervous as well.

IMG_8384

Whose idea was this, anyway?! 

Oh right…

I hope to have a few more posts before race day – they may be nonsensical gibberish but it may be a good way to distract myself away from the impending chaos that is to come on the 24th. If that’s the case, I thank you in advance for bearing with me.

Have a great rest of your week!

 

1 thought on “The final countdown (sort of…)”

Leave a Reply

