Here we go…

…there’s no turning back now!

It’s race week.

We leave for Lake Placid tomorrow.

I haven’t packed a thing.

Seriously.

toonvectors-17160-940.jpg
via Google. Exactly how I feel right now about packing.

My irrational fears of the race have set in, including everything from forgetting my bike (don’t judge, it’s happened before), to not waking upon time, to not being able to finish.

CA3ggsCXIAAXQ4x
TRUTH! (via Google)

But I’m trying my best to put those out of my head and be ready to face this Ironman and kick its booty.

I’ve been in “taper mode” for just about a week and it’s such a strange feeling to “only” have to do about an hour of training a day or less. I do enjoy my extra time, but work and my anxiety have taken up any spare moments I could have had thanks to taper.

Oh well.

As we embark on this adventure starting tomorrow, I will do my best to remain calm and keep smiling. I learned many years ago to smile through pain and it will help – and it actually does. And I know I’ve put in the hard work and Sunday is just icing on that cake. I just have to convince myself over and over again of that and not let the devil on my other shoulder tell me I can’t.

I know I can do this. I’ve proven to myself I can handle the intensity of 8 months of training, and now all I need to do is get through one more long day.

I got this.

Right?

Sure.

See? There’s that devil again! Knock it off!

Ok, back to what I was saying… I got this.

I have 3 goals for this race:

  1. Finish (duh) 
  2. Finish in under 12 hours 
  3. Finish in the top part of my age group 
    • What “part” exactly? That’s to be seen 

If I focus and keep thinking positively, I could achieve all 3. But honestly, there is so much that could be out of my control on Sunday, I may only make it to goal #1 and that’s ok.

You can track me on Sunday if you’d like – http://www.ironman.com and follow the “Live Race Coverage” for Lake Placid. My race number is 1139 or you can search by my name.

ErikaWillDoItAgain
How awesome is this logo!? My friend Kristyn did this for me – THANK YOU!!!

Thank you to ALL of you who have supported me through this journey. My family most of all, my amazing coach Matt, my parents, and all of you. I couldn’t have done it without your support and unwavering positive energy during all my craziness.

13692505_10153726950382078_2446038275517590736_n
from Rob’s tri on Sunday – he did great!
13782035_10153729574692078_6244035642784423895_n
The shirts several of my wonderful friends will be wearing to support my efforts!

I’m not sure I’ll post again before Sunday but I’ll definitely let you all know how it goes.

I got this. 

 

 

1 thought on “Here we go…”

Leave a Reply

