Reflecting on the season

**Before I get to my blog post, don’t forget that applications are now open to join my amazingly wonderful team of women at Coeur Sports. They’re an incredible company I’ve had the honor of representing the past 2 years and I can’t even explain what that’s meant to me! Here’s the link to the application – and best of luck (I hope I get asked back for 2017 as well!)

Ok now back to our regularly scheduled program…

Welcome to fall, everyone! I’m so happy this time of year is finally here – although I know it’s the end of triathlon season, it’s also (hopefully) the end of the hot temperatures I just can’t tolerate. (Although, it’s in the mid-80s here today. I mean, come on. Enough already.) The heat and humidity is no good for my headaches, my hair, my mood or my desire to get out and run. I find every excuse in the book to avoid it including things I hate doing like folding and putting away laundry – you know it’s bad when that trumps a workout!

funny-laundry-meme
Am I right or what? (via Google)

So I’m looking forward to cooler, less humid weather where I can get back to just going for a run to enjoy it and not have to worry about hitting a pace, a time or a distance. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do that and I’m honestly looking forward to the break.

I realized this weekend, as I was dealing with a 2.5 year old with a stomach bug (you have no idea how many diapers I’ve changed and how many loads of laundry I’ve done in the past 4 days. It’s actually laughable…), that I’m a little burned out. After last weekend’s 70.3, I was ready to be done. I needed that last race to kind of feel like the season was “complete” and now I have no real desire to sign up for anything in the foreseeable future.

139021-098-027h
My actual time was 5:51 which I was pleased with – the bike was NOT easy and the swim was definitely long…but we survived! 
14344157_10153870620502078_3166984233544464932_n
My IronFamily! What you can’t see in this photo is that Emily only has a diaper on with no pants. Good times. 

I took some time to reflect on my season and although I didn’t do that many races when all was said and done, I’m very proud of myself.

I am not one to toot my own horn – at all. In fact, I find reasons to justify or qualify what I’ve done to make it feel less “show-offy” to me. It’s hard to explain but as much as I love doing well in my races, I’m only competing with myself and to continue to improve ME. I’m not out there to prove anything to anyone, other than to show my 2 girls that anything is possible. They’re the reason I push myself when I don’t want to (except for those runs in the heat…see above…) and why I try to have “what’s next” on my mind so I can continue to show them that hard work pays off.

I am humbled when people tell me I inspire them. I don’t really know how to respond to that except with a “thank you?” in a tone that sounds like I’m a bit confused and wondering why they think that. And I find myself trying to back pedal and downplay what I’ve done to make it not so centered on me. It’s an odd thing I realize, but as I said, I’m just not good with “hey, look at me! I’m awesome!”

Because I’m not.

I’m just an almost 41 year old mom who enjoys swimming, can get through a bike ride with *usually* only a few curse words, and an ok runner who walks through every aid station because I’m too uncoordinated enough to drink and run at the same time. I just happen to be able to do those 3 things for a fairly long period of time and be called an “endurance athlete.”

I will say, though, that this past year will be tough to top for my personal goals. It occurred to me last week that I did the equivalent of “hitting for the cycle” in triathlon terms and completed every distance:

  • Sprint (in August) 
  • Olympic  (in June) 
  • Half Iron (in September) 
  • Ironman (in July) 
  • Throw in a half marathon for good measure, too (in May) 

And although I just got done saying I don’t like to toot my own horn, I will say this is pretty kick-ass to me. It’s not easy to juggle work, kids, family, friends and training and I somehow did that the past nearly 10 months.

No wonder I’m tired! 

Now, don’t get me wrong. I totally acknowledge that there are lots of other men and women who do as much if not a lot more than me – so I absolutely know I’m nothing unique. It’s all about making time for what matters to you and what you love to do.

Sure I’ve had to sacrifice a lot this year. And I feel like I’ve lost some friendships, which bothers me a bit. But that could be just part of life and how we all evolve. And that’s something I’ll have to accept and deal with. I try very hard to fit everything in and I give all I can.

So I will take some time to reflect, take some time to relax (although I’m really bad at that…) and figure out “what’s next”. As of now, I have no idea. Rob has been talking about doing a 70.3 (or 2, or 3…) together next year but we need to map that out with timing and locations. I highly doubt I’ll do another full Ironman in 2017, but I won’t completely rule it out just yet! I mean, I have to live up to the tattoo right?! (just kidding)

I appreciate you following me along with my 2nd Ironman journey and my life in general. I really enjoy writing these blog posts – although they aren’t that frequent. It does give me a way to share what I’m feeling and not have to bore anyone with endless stories they don’t want to hear when we’re out at a social event (at least I hope not).

I’m guessing I’ll continue the blog and we’ll see where it takes me. As of now, I’m still not sure, which is a strange feeling for me. I’ve had a big, lofty, scary, goal every year for as long as I can remember, and as I head into the last part of 2016 with nothing on the horizon, it’s a little odd! I’m sure inspiration will strike after I’ve taken a bit of a break.

7fe18c6e6ea6dd393336c45c44f38389
via Google

Until then, thanks again for all of your support and if you’re still reading this, kudos to you for still being awake 🙂

Cheers!

 

 

1 thought on “Reflecting on the season”

  1. Yes you absolutely undersell yourself. I know how hard it is to accept an accomplishment but you have earned every single one of them. You may be doing this to inspire your daughters but you are inspiring so many others (me definitely included!!) with your training and your accomplishments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

