In the rear view mirror

I’m still in awe that it’s July for some reason. It seems like every time the calendar turns to the next month, I say the same thing – “how is it ____ already??” It’s true what they say – time really does fly as you get older. How is it that when you’re a kid, an hour feels like a week but as an adult, I would give anything to have a few extra hours in each day?

Craziness.

So here we are, already past the 4th of July long weekend, and looking ahead to a crazy few weeks starting this weekend with Rob’s Ironman 70.3 in Muncie, Indiana.

But before we talk about looking ahead, let’s rewind a bit to the past few weeks as I know you’re all so anxious to hear how my training has been going (or maybe not.)

June was a chaotic month trying to fit everything in. I did the best I could to meet all of the workouts Matt had for me, and I was mostly successful. Some days I was ready to tear my hair out from the stress of it all, but I managed to not lose my mind (completely).

According to my Garmin Connect app, here were my stats from June (UPDATE: I forgot to include my stats from the Olympic distance triathlon on June 25th – oops! So these numbers are for real this time…):

Running: 86.9 miles

Swimming: 24,500 yards (approx. 13.9 miles) 

Biking: 475.9 miles (whoa) 

Total: 576.7 miles 

No wonder I’m tired. I did a lot of double workouts many days of the month, got some miles outside on my bike, lots of challenging runs, open water swims, etc.

I think my training is ahead of where it was last year and I feel stronger than I ever have, so I’ll take that as a positive. Even though I’m reaching the point where I’m feeling the mental and physical fatigue big time. I need to get through the next few weeks of really hard training and then the end will be in sight!

What-Fatigue-is
True story. (via google)

Even with some fairly long training sessions, we were able to enjoy the holiday weekend at my in-laws’ lake place with Rob’s family and the girls. We were outside all day, kayaking, watching the girls play endlessly, having a few cocktails and enjoying the spectacular weather.

 

So now we look ahead to Rob’s big race on Saturday – he’s ready for it, and is going to kill it! I’m actually going to volunteer there too which should be fun. Not sure what I’ll be doing but something in or around T1. I’m excited to be there to cheer him on and help the other racers too.

After that, we transition into Julia’s 8th birthday festivities, soccer camps, soccer practices, and before I know it, it’s August and we’re on our way to Mont Tremblant.

Holy bananas.

Here’s to a successful July!

Hope you all had a great holiday weekend!

3 thoughts on “In the rear view mirror”

  1. That picture about fatigue with your comment made me laugh! It’s crazy to me that you ran 80 miles, let alone the rest of the miles you put in last month!! You are amazing 😀

    Like

  2. I can’t believe we are getting so close to IMMT! How did that happen?! I don’t have the fatigue when I get in the shower…it happens before that when I’m taking a salt bath! Sometimes I actually fall asleep! Enjoy the month of July and I’ll see you soon enough in Canada! Congrats to Rob on a great race yesterday! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

