It’s almost go time

So here I sit, on the last day of July…still unsure how another month has gone by. Didn’t I just write a post at the end of June, like, yesterday?

And I feel like a broken record when I say the month flew by. Truly, though, it did. The days were filled with Julia’s swim practice (every day), twice-a-week swim meets, new work assignments (lots of them with some day trips thrown in for good measure), family activities, Rob’s races, Julia’s birthday celebrations, volunteering, oh and the heat of my training. So many long training days, double workouts and several rides over 60 miles including an 80 and a 100 miler, and runs up to 19 miles. It all culminated yesterday with Julia’s actual 8th birthday.

How is she 8??

10462779_10152240001072078_798486835668292694_n
July 30, 2009
20375995_10154783925877078_8835509386187431533_n
July 30, 2017

I don’t know about the rest of you moms out there, but my kids’ birthdays are emotional days for me, especially with Julia since she was the 1st. It’s just crazy to remember those days and what happened and holding them for the first time. Brings tears to my eyes and then I wince a bit remembering the pain that came along with it all! But I digress – it’s a great day to celebrate keeping them alive another year – we have successfully kept other humans alive for 8 years now. Crazy. Let’s hope the streak continues…

Because I know so many of you love stats (or you don’t at all and you’ll skip this part), here are the goods from my July training according to Garmin/Strava…(and everyone knows, if it’s not on Garmin or on Strava or some other social media site, it’s #notlegit. True story. Or maybe not.)

  • Swim – 27,610 yards (about 15.7 miles if my math is right) 
  • Bike  – 633.3 miles 
  • Run  – 84.8 miles 

TOTAL: 733.8 miles in 31 days 

I’m definitely feeling the training and the exhaustion more and more. But thankfully I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. A few more key workouts and then just fillers, until I hit taper time in a week or so.

I can’t believe it’s almost here.

As much as I’m anxious to get to the start (and finish) line, it will be a little bitter sweet that so many months of effort will all come to an end in 1 day. Crazy.

I’m so excited that my dear friend Kristyn made me another custom logo for my race – she’s an amazingly talented graphic designer, and an overall wonderful person. If you ever need anything designed, please let me know and I can put you in contact with her!

I’m making shirts for my support crew and my friends/family back home and will donate any extra money beyond the cost of the shirts to 2 different charities – The Kyle Pease Foundation and Adeline’s Army. I’m hoping to send off a good chunk of change to both of these groups.

Check out this logo – I mean, isn’t it the coolest ever!?

20429874_10154785955362078_5553107096889700496_n

Awesome. An an homage to my BFF Julie’s home country with the French thrown in!

As I embark on the final 15 days until we make our trek to Mont Tremblant, I appreciate all of your support, your well wishes and your inspiration to keep moving forward. When I want to stop, when I want to quit, when I want to cry… I just remember there are so many others going through so much more than me and I know I can do it. Mind over matter.

JustKeepSwimming
via google

Thank you for taking time to read this! Have a great rest of your week!

2 thoughts on “It’s almost go time”

  1. Awww, thanks for the shout out! You are SO CLOSE and you are going to *ROCK* this race!! I wish it were a week earlier so I could go. But I will be watching and stalking, er, tracking you all day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

